RSS Feed

Real Food

So I’ve decided to do the 10 day real food challenge from the 100 days of real food website. I decided to do this in an effort to get physically, mentally, and spiritually healthier. The aim of the challenge is focused more on the physical aspect, but for me it will do so much more.

Physically: Since I am well on my way to becoming a registered dietitian (only a few more months to be exact), I am fully aware of the effect food has on our bodies. The patients I see in my internship are suffering from years of putting junk into their bodies. Seeing these effects face-to-face every day has helped me realize I need to make a change. I want to feel better and not feel sluggish from a poor diet.

Mentally: For quite a few years now I have struggled with anxiety and eating issues. When I feel out of whack, I often turn to food for comfort. My food of choice is typically the sweet, delicious, oh-so-choclately junk that fills the aisles of our grocery stores today. And unfortunately, only a few short minutes after the indulgence I feel miserable. Now please don’t read this like I’m saying sweets are bad for you. As I’m sure you’ve heard before, moderation is key. But if you are turning to it for comfort like I have, it is definitely not a good thing. I am MORE than ready to enjoy the mornings in the future where I wake up and don’t feel weighed down and sluggish because my body is trying to recover from what I ate the day before. I look forward to the days to come when I actually have the energy to make it through the day with only one cup of coffee.

Spiritually: This may be the biggest reason why I have decided to take on this challenge. For too long I have let food get all of my attention. I have constantly thought about it, fought with it, loved it, and hated it. I have let it become my idol. I have let it fill the space in my heart and mind that is designated for God. While the food may falsely promise me peace and happiness, it actually provides the exact opposite. I am ready to love God with my whole heart, not just what is left over after a box of cookies.

Now I know this challenge is going to be a huge one indeed. I am the only one in my house attempting this endeavor. There will be plenty of tasty processed junk calling my name every day. But luckily I have a God who makes His strength to fight temptation available to me and friends and family there to support me. Here goes nothin’!

Here are a few pics of some of my real food choices today. They were delicious!

20120430-200056.jpg

20120430-200122.jpg

Leave a Reply

