RSS Feed

Life Without Common Luxuries

So it has been a long time since I’ve blogged and I apologize for that.  I was unable to blog because I was without power for 8 DAYS.  In West Virginia, and surrounding states, there was a terrible wind storm about 2 weeks ago that struck out of nowhere.  We were all caught unprepared.  The state is only now close to moving out of a state of emergency.  At our house, not only were we without power, but we also did not have water because we have a cistern and the pump requires electricity.  And to top it all off, we were in a heat wave!  Needless to say, this was quite a trying week for everyone.

I would love to sit here and tell you about how I embraced this time as a chance to slow down and take a break from all our modern luxuries.  In a way I did because I had no choice, but I have to say this was very difficult for me to handle.  I wanted to read by blogs, search on Pinterest, and watch some TV.  After all, this was my first free week after I completed my internship.  Instead, I found myself moving trees in 95+ degree weather, lugging our porch gazebo off our roof, cleaning spoiled food out of the refrigerator, and sitting in my house dripping with sweat.  I did not wear makeup or do my hair for a week, not that I do that much to myself anyway.

However, amidst all the inconveniences and grumblings, I also was amazed by how a terrible situation could be used as a chance to show our loved ones we care.  My aunt and uncle opened up their half-lit home for us to shower.  Several friends and family offered up their homes or let us bum a few jugs of water.  In the evenings, I also found myself sitting on the front porch with all of my family members, either reading books, chatting, or playing Mancala.  While we were all suffering, we were also presented with several opportunities to spend time together which would normally consist of TV watching or surfing the Web.  While the storm certainly brought out some of the worst in us, we also shared some moments that I will remember for a long time.

About alifewithintention

My process of becoming physically, mentally, and spiritually healthier and all the fun things in between.

Leave a Reply

